HOW TO AVOID A SUMMER SKIN MELTDOWN

In my opinion, one of the most frustrating things that can happen to us women is looking in a mirror halfway through the day to find our beautiful face of makeup shiny, sweaty, creased, blotchy, and melted. (Yeah.) And although I love summer more than any other season, this happens now more than ever. Here’s a few of my best tips to help keep your skin from having a summer meltdown:

IMG_5514

Wash your face. Before applying any makeup in the morning, be sure to wash your face to get rid of any excess dirt or oil that has built up overnight. Gently massage your face with your fingertips to get a great clean, then pat dry. Your makeup will go on smoother and more evenly, starting your day off as fresh as possible. My favorite is Enza’s Sustaining Cleanser because it’s so lightweight and brightens my complexion. I always do a double cleanse. Once to rid of surface pollutants, and then again to get deeper into my pores. 

IMG_5577

Exfoliate. If you want your foundation to look even better and stay in place all day, exfoliate two to three times per week. I LOVE using Fine Facial Polish. It helps gently scrub away impurities and absorbs excess oil on my face. I’m so happy I added this product to my skincare routine. It makes everything so much easier! 

IMG_5607IMG_5611

Use a primer. When it comes to saving your makeup from a serious meltdown, Shine Control is a fabulous defense. This lightweight formula primes your skin by controlling shine on your face. After I cleanse and tone my skin, I apply my Shine Control to my T-zone (where most of my oil appears) and then put on my makeup. It gives me an amazing matte finish all day!

IMG_5547 IMG_5542

Proof and powder your products. Waterproof eyeliner and mascara really are important for preventing a makeup meltdown, especially if you’ll be swimming or sweating more than normal. Raccoon eyes don’t look good on anyone. Also, try dusting a translucent powder over your entire face after you’ve finished applying your foundation. This helps create a matte finish and keeps your foundation in place.

IMG_5555

Another great way to set your foundation is to spritz your skin with a hydration spray. This helps keep liquid and powder foundations in place, while giving your skin added moisture. I’m using Jane Iredale’s D2O Hydration Spray in the picture above.

IMG_5571

Drink more water. This is something you should be doing all year round, but especially during this hot and humid season. Not only are you hydrating your body but your skin as well. And drinking water gives you clearer, more beautiful skin so then you don’t have to wear as much makeup to hide your complexion! It’s a win-win all around.

One last tip! Since the summer months call for lots of time in the sun, remember to ALWAYS wear your SPF! Your skin will not only be protected from sunburns, but also from long term sun damage effects like dark spots and wrinkles. It’s a must for EVERYONE! Do you have any tips for avoiding a skin meltdown this summer? -xo Kayla

2 thoughts on “HOW TO AVOID A SUMMER SKIN MELTDOWN

  1. Pingback: Health Tips for Summer- 7 Easy Tips to Stay Healthy this Summer

Leave a comment